Kathy's Thoughts

My thoughts on life around me and trying to find the true me.

Go ahead, make someone’s day

on March 29, 2012

The other day, my Son had a 1/2 day of school and a gift card burning a hole in his pocket.  We trolled around a certain toy store for about a half hour so he could increase his Lego collection from huge to obscene.  Next we stopped in the pet store to check out the fish and frogs.  Finally we wound up in the closest fast food place.

I ordered a cheeseburger with lots of gooey fake cheese, some fries and a root beer while he had Chicken nuggets (this place uses real chicken), fries and a Chocolate milk.  We talked and just enjoyed each other for a while.

As we left to head to the car, I thanked the older man in front of us for holding the door.  He smiled and said, “Can I tell you joke?”  I figured what the heck it will only take a minute and it will probably make the man’s day.  I replied, “sure but only because I like your cap. (he was sporting an NYPD ball cap)”

My Son and I listened to a few jokes, laughed, learned a little bit about the man and went our merry way.  It took a mere few minutes out of our lives to give this man the attention he craved and we all felt better afterwards.

My challenge to you is to make someone’s day.  Smile at a stranger, stop to listen to a joke, pay someone’s toll for them.  A simple act can go a long way.

One response to “Go ahead, make someone’s day

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    An excellent challenge. I hope people take you up on it.

Leave a Reply

