Kathy's Thoughts

My thoughts on life around me and trying to find the true me.

Tadpoles, toads and crickets. Oh my!

on April 11, 2012

Growing up the only pets I had were those carnival fish you got bombed with ping pong balls. You know, the ones that lasted about a week.  I swore things would be different for my kids.

We got a dog shortly after we got married.  His name was Jack.  He was a Black Lab mix and that dog hated me!  He listened to my husband.  They got along great. He did NOT listen to me at all.  We tried puppy kindergarten and we failed.  9 months later, we returned him to the pound.  It didn’t seem like animals we in the cards for us.

Fast forward 12 years.  Our 11 year old Daughter is obsessed with Frogs.  In actuality, her first animal obsession was a newt but she was only 3 at the time and not smart enough to beg for one as a pet yet.  When last Christmas rolled around she asked for a grow a frog.  I added it to the kids Amazon wish list and my Brother-in-law got it for her.

Things started out great.  We mailed away for the tadpole.  He came a weeks later with some food and all was well.  A few weeks later however he stopped moving. I tried to have her wait it out a few days to make sure he wasn’t just changing but she wanted nothing to do with that.  Her Brother helped her bury Billy Bob out by the shed.

The little Miss is normally so composed and strong that I forget she is still a kid.  She came to me and cried and cried.  So what does a good Mother do?  I bring her to Pet Smart of course!

Mind you, my Sister-in-law gave each of the kids Target gift cards for Christmas and my middle one bought some sort of frog habitat with his.  His tadpoles are going strong and this added to M’s sadness.

The little guy at this point has no tadpole, no pet what so ever.  $30 later we come home with two firebelly toads, a habitat, rocks for the habitat and crickets to feed them with.  YUCK!

We have since gotten a cricket keeper so we don’t have to figure out how to get the crickets to the toads without touching them and have even collected our own crickets.  We have come a LONG way.

For someone that grew up with no pets, I have to admit that I am really liking this and the kids actually like to feed the toads.  Did I mention we are getting a kitten next?  Our kitten was born Saturday and we can’t wait to pick it up.

I will post pictures soon.

Leave a Reply

