Kathy's Thoughts

My thoughts on life around me and trying to find the true me.

Teach your Children well…(credit Graham Nash)

on April 14, 2012

As a parent, I always try to teach my Children well.  As a Scout leader, I try to teach many children.  Today was my 3rd time participating in The Great American Cleanup/Keep Rockland Beautiful.

I won’t lie, it is hard work.  Back breaking work but when you look at the results, you can’t help but smile with a sense of pride in what you have done.

I tell my Scouts that it is a requirement towards their Badge.  I don’t want them to do it for that reason though.  I want them to do it so they can take ownership of a part of our community. I want them to do it so they will learn the value of hard work and that hard work sometimes is it’s own reward.

Each year, some come right on time so they can get a grabber and have fun with it.  I don’t have a problem with that because I know that by the end of the day, even if they have picked up trash for an hour and played for two that they have learned something.

Do you participate  in a neighborhood cleanup?  What type of area do you clean?  We usually do an area that really isn’t the best location as it is close to a fairly major road but it gets a fair amount of trash.  This year one of the volunteer staff called me as the organizer and asked if I would mind changing locations.  Other than not having a place to take a quick lunch break, I think our new area was great.

The history of the new area is that it is the lowlands.  It was actually meant to get rainwater overflow.  It was NOT meant to get garbage overflow but back in 1999 when a nearby lake community that was falling to pieces was bought up, the trash that was in the lake was brought down by Hurricane Floyd and has been coming during bad rainstorms ever since.  We found several tires, lots of plastic ride on toys and LOTS of beer bottles among other things.  The find of the day for the kids was a wooden duck which now resides in my garden.

Here are a few pictures:

The Beginning of the day

2pm

Our new garden decoration

3pm and we are exhausted.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.
    Margaret Mead

 

 

2 responses to “Teach your Children well…(credit Graham Nash)

  1. mrabbit07 says:

    Great job everyone! What a blessing to the whole community! Love your blog Kat! ~~ Melissa

  2. Fresh from my desk... says:

    Love that wooden duck!

Leave a Reply

