Kathy's Thoughts

My thoughts on life around me and trying to find the true me.

Geocaching

on April 19, 2012

Not all those who wander are lost.
— J.R.R. Tolkien

If you follow me, you may have noticed I haven’t posted in a few days.  There is a good reason for this.  I have been geocaching.  Last year, if you asked me what geocaching was I would have given you a blank stare.  Now, I can tell you that geocaching is a real-world outdoor treasure hunting game.

Someone hides a container (called a cache) and enters the coordinates into a database on geocaching.com  We then use our handheld devices (geomate jr and the geocaching app on my phone (yes, there’s an app for that)) to search for it.  Once we have found the cache we log our find and share our experience online.

The thing I love best about geocaching is that the whole family can do it.  My kids BEG me to take them.   We have even learned a couple of things along the way.  Check out this history marker near a cache named Treason that we found.

We found 3 other caches the day we found Treason.  My friend and I found a really cool site that we thought would be perfect for a geocache so we discussed making our own.  We went back out together the following day without my kids in tow because 3 finds just wasn’t enough for us.  We found 4 that day before deciding that we DEFINITELY needed to make and hide our own.

We hit up Walmart since it was near our last cache stop.  We picked up a nice container that looked waterproof, a small notepad to use as a log book, some little trinkets and headed out to find a place to hide it.  We agreed that it needed to be close to where one of us lived so we would be able to check on it easily.   I told her about this great little park owned by the school system near my house and away we went.  Here is a picture of our cache after our friend Jgeofinder found it.  We named it educache since it is placed at the Outdoor Education Center site.I was waiting for the hubby to meet me there to take a walk the other day and saw someone grab it (he put it back, don’t worry).  We have achieved success, people are finding our geocache!

If you are looking for something fun to do by yourself or with the kids, check this out.  The app is $10 but I guarantee once you grab one you will be hooked and the $10 will seem like a bargain when you realize how much fun you are having.

Watch out for Poison Ivy and make sure you pick caches that have both a low D level (difficulty) and a T level (terrain) in the beginning.  Save those high level Terrain ones for the uber hikers.

Most of all, have fun!  I hope to see you in the great outdoors.

Carouselfreak (carouselkidz and smelvin1)

Leave a Reply

