Kathy's Thoughts

My thoughts on life around me and trying to find the true me.

Summer Adventures

on August 14, 2012

It is hard to believe that Summer is winding down already.  Soon the kids will be back to school and I will actually be a little lonely.  We have had many adventures this summer.  We have also crossed off some more items on our bucket list!  Here is an update:

  • Find a Conch shell – nope
  • Geocache in Canada – check
  • Geocache in NC – check
  • Geocache in Lake George – check (and nearby Bolton Landing) Image
  • Go out for lunch – can you believe I am not sure?
  • Make ice cream sundaes – check but I think we need to do it again!
  • Go to an ice cream place – check, 2 places in Lake George!
  • Have a garage sale – nah, too hot and we haven’t been around, maybe in the fall
  • Blow bubbles – I think so, we have some in the shed though so I will make sure we do.
  • Swim in the pool – check, not as much as we would like to as it keeps going green!
  • Go to a park – we went to Blue Mountain for a geocaching picnic along with a few smaller ones.
  • Go metal detecting in NC – check
  • Go metal detecting in Canada – didn’t have a metal detector yet
  • Go metal detecting in Lake George – forgot to pack the metal detector, DOH!
  • Go on a boat – check, motor boat in NC and row boats in Lake George
  • Image
  • Go tubing – check, the kids went twice!  Once in NC and once in Lake George.  I went with my Sisters in NC.  Sooo much fun!
  • Image
  • Go Parasailing (4 out of 5 of us) – 3 of us went in Lake George.  Hubby decided to stay behind with the middle child as he didn’t want to go.

We also went to Fort William Henry and the kids joined the army to fight off the French in the French and Indian war.  They got paid with a wooden nickel.

J and hubby went ziplining at the Adirondack Extreme Adventure Course.
We went back to the same place in Lake George this year. We have gone for the past three years and love it there. My friend Helene actually saw my pictures and asked where we stayed. She booked her trip to the same place for real soon. we love going there because the Minnehaha gets real close and we have made some great friends from Chicago that we see every year. This year, our friend Eric couldn’t make it and we were bummed but that was short lived as a family with 3 boys stayed in their unit and all the kids got along really great. We are happy that they will be back with us again next year. Here is my favorite picture of Lake George that I took from Top of the World.

We have gone on hikes and had so many adventures.  I am having so much fun, I don’t want summer to end.

Leave a Reply

